Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Decentering Whiteness & Building Multiracial Community

July 5, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

$175

3-part workshop Wednesday, June 21, 28 and July 5, 7-9pm ET; 6-8PM CT; 5-7PM MT; 4-6PM PT

$175/PERSON TOTAL COST FOR ALL 3 SESSIONS

DISCOUNT FOR 3 OR MORE FROM SAME ORGANIZATION (contact robinalpern@cswac.org)

 

 

This workshop offers a strategic model developed by CSWAC on how the racial structure of our society might be changed in a way that is fair and equitable to all. We call the model Decentering Whiteness and Building Multiracial Community. In brief, we promote the notion that our society should be centered on a multiracial culture, and white culture needs to be moved from its central position, or decentered.

 

TOPICS WILL INCLUDE

  • Basic concepts important to a multiracial perspective
  • Centered and decentered whiteness
  • Features of whiteness as centered
  • Problems of monoracism
  • Envisioning a multiracial community
  • How to begin building multiracial community
  • Requirements for multiracial community building
  • and more!

DISCOUNT FOR 3 OR MORE FROM SAME ORGANIZATION (contact robinalpern@cswac.org)

TRAINERS

Charley Flint

Maya Grosz

Learn more here: https://cswac.org/decentering-whiteness-building-multiracial-community/

REGISTER: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/decentering-whiteness-building-multiracial-community-workshop-tickets-629347795197

 

Details

Date:
July 5, 2023
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cost:
$175
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/decentering-whiteness-building-multiracial-community-workshop-tickets-629347795197

Organizer

Center for the Study of White American Culture (CSWAC)
Email:
robinalpern@cswac.org
View Organizer Website

Venue

Virtual